Keep up with what's happening at DBR
17 April 2013

Avoidant joins DBR + Involution coming April 23rd

To celebrate our first anniversary, we are proud to announce the signing of our fifth act: Avoidant. Their crushing new EP “Involution” will be released digitally on April 23rd and will include their new single “The Betrayal”.
Avoidant was formed in Lima, Peru in the winter of 2010 by musicians Daniel Ramón Ibárcena Mollyk and Giancarlo Melgar Novoa. Finding parallels between each other’s respective bands they decided to work together and begin developing their own sound, a unique and relentless hybrid of Death Metal, Modern Metal and Shoegaze.

Through constant interaction between the Ibárcena Brothers and Giancarlo Melgar, the songs surfaced in the form of their first Demo “Eye-solated Breed”. Few months later a second guitar player for the band was found: Giomar Carrasco. Avoidant released the demo to great reception and whitin a few months decided it was time to work on new material. In July 2012, the band released a four-track EP entitled “Morphology”. This recording  showcased the evolution of the band seeking more of a progressive sound whists keeping all the musicianship that defined their earlier brand of Death Metal. Later that year, the band managed to release their first music video for the track “A Catalyst for Destruction”. The band is currently hard at work promoting their newest opus INVOLUTION. The recording sessions took place last February and incorporated a 7 string guitar and the addition of new bassist Cesar Rios. The result introduced fans to new elements such as: post-hardcore, death core and progressive metal. ” Involution” will be released digitally worldwide on April 23rd through Deathbound Records. This digital edition includes the previously unreleased track “The Betrayal”.

Avoidant - Band Picture


Band members :

Giancarlo Melgar – Vocals
Daniel R. Ibárcena – Lead Guitar/Vocals
Giomar Carrasco Salazar – Guitar/Vocals
Daniel Y. Ibárcena – Drums/Vocals
Cesar Rios – Bass



Vanishing // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  1. Vanishing // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  2. Body and Souls // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  3. Pressure // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  4. No Name, No Marker // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  5. L’invasion – I. Encres troubles // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  6. New Sun // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  7. Hunter’s Moon // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  8. L’invasion – II. La salve // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  9. Blood and Stone // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  10. The Vigil // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  11. Le Vent // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  12. Breathless // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  13. Doppelganger // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted