Keep up with what's happening at DBR
30 January 2015

Hands of Despair putting the final touches on the songwriting of their new opus

It’s been a long time coming but Deathbound Records is proud to officially welcome Hands of Despair to their roster.

Hands of despair started in 2009 as a solo project by Maxime Côté. From 2009 to 2010, Hands of Despair produced two demos that forged Maxime’s background in music composition, songwriting and production and ultimately set foot to the intense and brutal first album Hereafter. Hereafter marks the departure of Hands of Despair from a solo act to a full band. For the first time Maxime surrounded himself with renowned musicians, including Lyle Cooper (ex-The Faceless) on drums, and Egan O’Rourke (Daylight Dies) on clean vocals, to achieve an album that mixes the brutality of death metal, complex structures of progressive metal, darkness of black metal and despair of doom metal. From the first song to the last, Hereafter is an epic journey that every Progressive Metal fans should experience.

The project went on a hiatus in 2012, before coming back stronger than ever with a new line-up during the summer of 2014. The actual line-up features well respected and established members from Quebec’s metal scene, including Jeff Mott (Hollow), and Etienne Gallo (Augury / Talamyus). Hands of Despair are currently putting the final touches on the songwriting of what will be their new opus, slated for late 2015 and available on Deathbound Records. More details on Hands of Despairs’ new lineup and album will be revealed in the upcoming months.

Breathless // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  1. Breathless // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  2. Phénix // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  3. Blood and Stone // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  4. Hunter’s Moon // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  5. Pressure // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  6. New Sun // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  7. L’invasion – I. Encres troubles // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  8. Doppelganger // Hands of Despair - Well of the Disquieted
  9. Le Vent // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  10. Yellow Sign // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  11. The Vigil // Longhouse - II:Vanishing
  12. Lily // Tunguska Mammoth - Breathless
  13. No Name, No Marker // Longhouse - II:Vanishing